Marknadens största urval
Snabb leverans
Abdulrazak Gurnah

Böcker av Abdulrazak Gurnah

Abdulrazak Gurnah är vinnare av Nobelpriset i litteratur 2021. Han är en tanzanisk författare som för närvarande bor i Storbritannien och han skriver även på engelska. Han fick Nobelpriset i litteratur för sin unika skildring av kolonialism och flyktingar.

Abdulrazak Gurnah växte upp på Zanzibar, varifrån han flydde på grund av förföljelse. Han kom till England på 1960-talet, där han också studerade. Han blev senare professor i engelska och postkolonial litteratur vid University of Kent. Han debuterade som författare 1987 med romanen "Memory of Departure". Sedan dess har han gett ut ett stort antal romaner och noveller. Mest känd är hans roman ”Paradise” som kommer ut på svenska våren 2022. Abdulrazak Gurnah är en unik röst i världslitteraturen, och hans verk innehåller en speciell autenticitet, eftersom de är inspirerade av sin egen livshistoria.
Visa mer
Filter
Filter
Sortera efterSortera Populära
  • av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    130,-

  • av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

  • av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    135,-

    Paradise is Abdulrazak Gurnah's fourth novel, a beautiful story of African life.

  • av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

    Presents a story of love and betrayal, of seduction and of possession, and of a people desperately trying to find stability amidst the maelstrom of their times.

  • - By the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature
    av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

    An astounding meditation on family, self and the meaning of home by the Booker-shortlisted author of Desertion

  • - By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021
    av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

    **By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021**Vehement, comic and shrewd, Abdulrazak Gurnah's first novel is a "compelling" (New York Times) and unwavering contemplation of East African coastal life.Hassan Omar is a gifted young man, with a potentially bright future but a past marred by poverty. In the wake of a national uprising, and with a new government in place, though, he is denied a scholarship to a university abroad and deprived of the opportunity to study further. Instead, Hassan travels to Nairobi to stay with a wealthy uncle, in the hope that he will release his mother's rightful share of the family inheritance.In Nairobi, Hassan experiences the collision of past secrets and future hopes, and the compounding of fear and frustration, beauty and brutality. In his debut novel, Nobel Prize winning author Abdurlazak Gurnah creates a fierce tale of undeniable power.

  • - By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021
    av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

    **By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021**A "corrosively funny and relentless" (The New York Times) tale of cultural identity and displacement, Admiring Silence is the story of a man's dual lives as a refugee from his native Zanzibar in England.The unnamed narrator of this dazzling novel escapes from Zanzibar to England knowing that he will probably never return. In his new country, things are not quite as he imagined - the school where he teaches is cramped and violent, and he quickly forgets how it feels to belong. But when he meets a beautiful, rebellious woman named Emma, and when Emma, turns away from her white, middle-class roots to offer him love and bear him a child, the narrator chooses to hide his past from his new family and his present circumstance from his family back in Zanzibar. Twenty years later, when the barriers at last come down in Zanzibar, he is compelled to go back. What he discovers there, in a story potent with truth, will change the entire vision of his life.

  • av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

    The breakthrough book from the highly acclaimed author of By the Sea

  • - By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021
    av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    134,-

    **By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021**A "wonderful" (Maaza Mengiste) depiction of the life of an immigrant as he struggles to come to terms with the horror of his past and the meaning of his life in England.Dear Catherine, he began. Here I sit, making a meal out of asking you to dinner. I don't really know how to do it. To have cultural integrity, I would have to send my aunt to speak, discreetly, to your aunt, who would then speak to your mother, who would speak to my mother, who would speak to my father, who would speak to me and then approach your mother, who would then approach you. Daud has immigrated to England in the wake of political turmoil in his native Tanzania. For years, he has tried to hide his past. But when he meets Catherine, he is determined to recount for her the stories of his tragic upbringing, his flight to England, and the racism in his new homeland. Structured as a pilgrimage, one which leads Daud deep into the pain and beauty of the past and forward into a new understanding of his life in exile, Pilgrims Way is a captivating, lyrical story about identity, memory, and immigration.

  • av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

    'One of the world's most prominent postcolonial writers . He has consistently and with great compassion penetrated the effects of colonialism and its effects on the lives of uprooted and migrating individuals' Anders Olsson, chairman of the Nobel CommitteeDelivered in London on 7 December 2021, 'Writing' is the lecture of the Nobel Laureate in Literature, Abdulrazak Gurnah. Collected here with three further essays, it explores his coming-of-age, his early experiences in 1960s Britain, the narratives of oceans, his lifelong love affair with reading, and the power of writing to subvert the stories that have been handed to us. Generous, funny and wise, this collection is the perfect introduction to the storyteller described as 'one of Africa's most important living writers'; whose work, now spanning four decades, continues to spin wonder and magic while offering penetrating insight into exile, migration and homecoming. 'In book after book, he guides us through seismic historic moments and devastating societal ruptures while gently outlining what it is that keeps those families, friendships and loving spaces intact' Maaza Mengiste'A wondrous writer' Philippe Sands

  • - By the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature 2021
    av Abdulrazak Gurnah
    140,-

    By the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature A searing tale of a young woman re-discovering her troubled family history and finding herself in the process.In post-World War II England, 17-year-old Dottie Badoura Fatma Balfour knows nothing of her family origins, and little of their history - or the abuse her ancestors suffered as they made their home in Britain. But Dottie knows what her family means to her, and in the wake of her mother's death, she's determined to keep the family together. She takes responsibility for her younger siblings, Sophie and Hudson. But as Sophie drifts from man to man, and the confused Hudson is absorbed into a world of crime, Dottie is forced to consider her own needs. Feeling rootless in England, she seeks a space for herself and an identity through books and begins to clear a path through life. Gradually, Dottie gathers the confidence to take risks, to forge friendships and to challenge the labels that have been forced upon her.For readers of Jhumpa Lahiri and Zadie Smith, Dottie is a deeply compassionate portrait of a second generation immigrant, a masterful examination of poverty and racism, and a psychologically nuanced story of family and survival.

Gör som tusentals andra bokälskare

Prenumerera på vårt nyhetsbrev för att få fantastiska erbjudanden och inspiration för din nästa läsning.